Skip to Main Content

BIBLIOGRAPHIC CITATION AND REFERENCING WITH APA STYLE

Citation

What is a citation?

 

A citation is a mention within the text of academic work that indicates the source of the information or the idea being discussed.

Citations are used to:

  • Recognise the original author: acknowledge the contributions of other researchers and authors.
  • Strengthen the credibility of the work: demonstrate that the work is based on solid research and reliable sources.
  • Help readers locate the source: enables readers to find the original source to obtain further information.

Example of an in-text citation:

  • When there is one author: (Silva, 2020).
  • When there are two authors: (Silva & Pereira, 2020).
  • When there are three or more authors: (Silva et al., 2020).

Bibliographic references

What is a bibliographic reference?

 

A bibliographic reference is a complete entry that appears in the list of references at the end of the work. It provides all the necessary details to enable readers to locate the original source. The reference includes information such as:

  • Author(s),
  • Publication date,
  • Title,
  • No. of the Edition/Issue,
  • Publisher,
  • Location of the publication,
  • Volume,
  • Pages of the work, or pages relating to the referenced publication.

 

Example of a bibliographic reference: 

  • Book: Silva, J. A. (2020). Organisational communication. Editora Académica. 
  • Journal paper: Pereira, M. B., & Costa, R. L. (2020). The importance of communication in project management. Journal of Administration, 35(2), 123-135. https://doi.org/10.1234/abcd.2020.5678 

The importance of choosing and defining a reference style

Why is it important to choose and define a reference style?

 

  • Check whether the work's supervisor, the scientific journal where the work will be published, or the scientific committee of the seminar/conference where it will be presented have a preference for a specific citation style.
  • Ensure that each bibliographic reference contains complete information, in order to enable readers to be able to identify the referenced work without ambiguity.
  • Maintain the same citation style throughout the list of bibliographical references, ensuring a homogeneous presentation.
  • Present citations and bibliographical references consistently throughout the work.
  • Define the bibliographic norm or style to be used from the outset of the research.
  • Consider the study/scientific area and the guidelines of the faculty/supervisor.