The bibliographic catalogue is a searchable database that contains all the documents and publications that are held in the library. It is essential to establish a search strategy to ensure successful and relevant search results.
Step 1 - Access the bibliographic catalogue on the Library home page
Step 2 - Select the catalogue icon
Step 3 - The bibliographic catalogue permits two types of search:
Allows a quick search through the entire catalogue, for all fields and for all words.
You can search by word (or word association).
The search in the "General" filter enables you to search all the terms in all the fields of the catalogue entries.
Searches are not case-sensitive.
Example:
Write "sustainable development" in the Search box and the search engine will search for all documents that contain both or one of the words “sustainable” or “development” in the bibliographic entries.
A search can also be made via the following fields:
When you want to know whether the catalogue contains a specific document, for which you know the title, author, and reference, then your search should be made in one of the following fields:
Example:
If you want to know whether a book exists with the title: Environmental social and governance (ESG) investing: a balanced analysis of the theory and practice of a sustainable portfolio.
Example:
To know if there is a book with the reference: HJ131.B73 2022
Enables you carry out a searches combining various search fields:
This type of search enables the use of Boolean operators (and, or, not).
Other criteria for narrowing down your search can also be used with the "Advanced search", namely:
Example:
Select the "Key word" field and insert the term composed of "Sustainable Economy", which will enable you to search this term in all the entry fields of the catalogue.
The search can be narrowed down with the Boolean operator "and" in order to search for documents on
Sustainable Economy which contain the word "Companies" in the "Key word" field.
This type of search can result in up to 38 entries.
Carrying out the same search, but this time using the criterion Type of document: "Masters Dissertation" and narrowing it down, for example, to Publication date interval: "2010-2022", results in less entries.
This type of search can result in up to 33 entries.
