Web of Science (ENG)

 

What is Web of Science?  

 

Web of Science (WoS) is one of the most prestigious databases of bibliographic references and scientific citations, which is recognised for its multidisciplinary scope and rigorous selection of publications. This platform enables researchers and students alike to access a wide range of scientific resources, including papers published in journals, conference proceedings, meeting abstracts, and other essential scientific documents. WoS is trecognised for the quality of its publications, as it mainly includes journals that have been subject to a rigorous peer review process, thus ensuring high standards of credibility and scientific relevance.

 

Through b-on, users have access to various WoS collections, such as the Web of Science Core Collection, which unites impact factor journals in various areas of knowledge; Current Contents Connect, which facilitates access to indexes of the contents of up-to-date scientific journals; the Derwent Innovations Index, which provides detailed information on patents; MEDLINE, one of the most important databases in the biomedical area; and the SciELO Citation Index, which indexes open access journals from Latin America, Portugal, and Spain, among others.

 

In addition to access to scientific publications, WoS also offers valuable tools such as Journal Citation Reports, Essential Science Indicators, and ResearcherID, which facilitates the in-depth and quantitative analysis of global scientific production.

 

What are the advantages?

 

• Simple and/or advanced search: enables you to carry out simple and complex searches, with detailed filters, on all collections at the same time, or individually.

 

• Relevant publications: highlights the most cited publications, makes it possible to search for related documents and allows links to be established between papers that cite others or are cited (citation network).

 

• Open Access: identifies open access documents.

 

• Direct download: facilitates the download of documents via direct links.

 

• Links to the publisher: provides a direct link to the publisher's website to access the full text (if subscribed or open access).

 

• Hyperlinked keywords: allows you to explore related terms by clicking on keywords.

 

• Quality of publications: includes mostly journals that have been subject to rigorous evaluation and use the peer review process, guaranteeing high quality standards.

 

• Quality metrics: provides information on the quartile and impact factor of journals.

 

• Trend analysis: includes tools for analysing trends in research, such as visualising graphs of citations over time, or identifying emerging themes in a particular area of study.

 

• Integration with Reference Managers: enables the direct export of citations and references to management software, such as EndNote.

 

Available content and coverage 

  

Web of Science (WoS) offers a wide variety of content and covers many scientific subjects. 

  

Available content: 

• Scientific papers: WoS indexes millions of papers from prestigious journals in various areas of knowledge.  

 

• Conference proceedings: includes publications from scientific conferences, essential for keeping up with recent discoveries.  

 

• Meeting abstracts: offers access to abstracts presented at scientific meetings, making it easier to consult new research.  

 

• Patents: through the Derwent Innovations Index, which provides access to patents, highlighting technological and scientific innovations.  

 

• Bibliographic data: includes detailed bibliographic references, enabling citations to be tracked and research to be linked.  

 

• Impact metrics: provides information on the impact factor, quartiles, and other indicators of journal performance. 

 

Coverage: 

• Multidisciplinarity: covers all areas of knowledge, including exact sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.  

 

• Global reach: indexes publications from all over the world, providing a broad view of international scientific production. 

 

• Time coverage of the Web of Science Core Collection: varies from index to index, for example: 

  • Science Citation Index: 1900 – present; 

  • Social Sciences Citation Index: 1956 – present; 

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index: 1975 – present; 

  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index – Science: 1990 – present; 

  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Sciences & Humanities: 1990 – presente.