By default, the WoS search is carried out in the ‘Web of Science Core Collection’, a collection that covers a wide area of research and indexes journals with an impact factor. However, it is possible to change the search by selecting other databases via the ‘Search in’ tab. This option enables you to adjust the search according to specific areas of interest and to access databases with their own content and functionalities. Each WoS database has separate search fields and controlled vocabulary, making it easy to customise and deepen your search according to your needs.
The Web of Science Core Collection enables you to refine searches through a variety of indexes, each of which is specialised in different areas of knowledge and types of documents. This feature offers users the ability to adjust their searches according to their specific research needs. By choosing between the different indexes, you can focus on specific scientific areas – such as exact sciences, social sciences or humanities, and document types – such as papers published in journals, conference proceedings and more. This approach helps to obtain more relevant and accurate results, maximising the effectiveness of scientific research.
Language
Although Web of Science indexes publications in several languages, most of the scientific literature is available in English. It is therefore advisable to carry out searches using English terms in order to obtain more comprehensive and accurate results.
Search by specific fields
In Web of Science, the search can be refined by defining specific search fields. By default, the search is in ‘All Fields’. However, you can specify particular fields, such as title, author, journal name or keywords, to make the search more focussed and effective.
Here are some common search fields and examples of how to use them:
Search in all fields. This enables you to easily find search terms in any field, including author, title, abstract, keywords, and more.
Example: how to search for ‘economic growth and inflation’:
1st - Enter the search terms: in the search bar, type the first term: ‘economic growth’. Then add the second term - ‘inflation’;
2nd – Adjust the preposition: use the appropriate proposition to combine the terms, such as ‘AND’, ‘OR’, or ‘NOT’, depending on the nature of your search;
3rd - Search: click on the ‘Search’ button to find the relevant publications.
Search in titles of papers, abstracts, authors' keywords, and the Keywords Plus field. The latter refers to terms indexed by Web of Science which are derived from the titles of those papers that cite the paper in question.
Example: to search for ‘economic growth’ and ‘inflation’, follow the steps below:
1st - Select the ‘Topic’ option: choose the ‘Topic’ option from the search menu;
2nd - Insert the terms into the search: in the search bar, type in the first term: ‘economic growth’. Then add the second term - ‘inflation’;
3rd - Adjust the preposition: use the appropriate preposition to combine the terms;
4th - Search: click on the ‘Search’ button to find the relevant publications.
Search by author name. Enter the surname followed by the first name (this can be just the initial and an asterisk, for example: Falconi, J*).
Example: to search for publications indexed in WoS by researcher ‘Jessica Falconi’, follow the steps below:
1st - Select the ‘Author’ option in the search menu;
2nd - Enter the author's name: in the search bar, enter the author's name - ‘Falconi, Jessica’;
3rd - Search: click on the ‘Search’ button to find the publications;
4th - Confirm the results: after searching, review the list of results to ensure that all the publications belong to the desired researcher. You can add additional information, such as full name, university affiliations or specific dates, if this information is available on the platform, or check each result individually.
Publication titles
Search by the name of the journal or conference. Use the AZ button in the search bar to access the index of publication titles and find the exact title of the publication.
Example: to search for publications from the Portuguese Economic Journal, follow the steps below:
1st - Select the ‘Publication Titles’ option in the search menu;
2nd - Enter the name of the journal: in the search bar, type the name of the journal - ‘Portuguese Economic Journal’.
3rd - Search: click on the ‘Search’ button to find related publications.
Enables you to search using the author's ResearcherID or ORCID ID. To search using these identifiers, follow these steps:
Example: How to search for publications with the ORCID ID DTY-3954-2022, follow the steps below:
1st - Select the ‘Author Identifiers’ option in the search menu;
2nd - Enter the ID: in the search bar, enter the ORCID ID, such as ‘DTY-3954-2022’.
3rd - Search: click on the ‘Search’ button to find the publications associated with that particular identifier.
Affiliation
When you select this field, a green button appears in the search bar. Click on this button to search the Affiliations Index. Use this list to find the official name of an organisation and its recognised variants.
Example:
To find and add the ISEG Department of Mathematics (‘DEPT MATH ISEG’) to the Web of Science search, follow the steps below:
1st - Click on the green button: Access the affiliations index;
2nd - Insert ‘Universidade de Lisboa’: in the affiliation search field, type ‘Universidade de Lisboa’;
3rd - Start the search: click on ‘Find’ to start the search;
4th - Select ‘Universidade de Lisboa’: locate the option again and select it;
5th - Select the ISEG Department of Mathematics: in the list that appears, find and select ‘ISEG Department of Mathematics’;
6th - Add to search: finally, click on ‘Add to Query’ to include the department in your search.
These steps enable us to focus our research on work affiliated with the ISEG Department of Mathematics.
Boolean operators can be used to combine or exclude search terms and to structure more complex queries. In addition, truncation is used to search for the root of a word and inverted commas are used to search for exact phrases, all of which can further refine results.
Here are some examples:
Booleans
Inverted Commas
Truncation
Advanced search and creating a Query
Advanced searching on Web of Science is an important tool for researchers who need to obtain more precise and specific results in their areas of interest. By combining Boolean operators such as AND, OR, and NOT with relevant keywords, it is possible to refine the search and find papers that are relevant to the topic under study. Creating a Query (or search key) enables one to structure the search strategically, integrating synonyms, specific terms, and filters that optimise the results, making the research process more efficient and targeted. Mastering the creation of Queries and advanced search is accordingly essential for all those who wish to explore academic and scientific literature in depth.
Below is a step-by-step example of how to carry out an advanced search and create a Query related to the area of Management.
1st - Select advanced search: in the top menu, click on ‘Advanced Search’;
2nd - Define the main topic: decide on the focus of your search. In this case, the chosen topic is – ‘innovation management’;
3rd - Select keywords: choose keywords related to the main topic, including synonyms, in order to ensure a more comprehensive search.
Examples of keywords:
- Innovation: ‘innovation’, ‘innovative management’, ‘technological innovation’;
- Project management: ‘management’, ‘management practices’, ‘strategic management’;
- Companies: ‘business’, ‘corporate management’, ‘companies’.
4th - Creating a Query: combine the keywords with the Boolean operators to construct the Query.
Example:
TS: stands for ‘Topic Search’ and searches the topics, abstracts, and keywords of papers;
OR: includes synonyms or variations of terms;
AND: connects the main concepts of the search;
5th - Apply filters: After creating the Query, refine the search with additional filters.
Examples of filters:
- Publication Year: in the filter panel on the left, under ‘Publication Years’, select the desired date range (e.g., 2018-2023);
- Subject Area: under ‘Research Areas’, select areas such as ‘Business’ or ‘Management’.
6th - Review and adjust the Query: check the results obtained and adjust the Query. If necessary, modify and create a Query in the advanced search box and click on ‘Search’ again to update the results.