The Mendeley Cite add-in for Microsoft® Word allows the user to cite seamlessly, as well as:
Mendeley Cite is compatible with Microsoft Office 365, Word Online, Microsoft Word 2016 versions and above, and Microsoft Word app for iPad®.
In the Mendeley Reference Manager menu click on "Tools":
After installing the Mendeley Cite add-in, the add-in must be activated in MS Word in order to insert citations:
Insert >My Add-ins.
In the following window, the Mendeley Cite add-in must be selected and click on Insert.
To add references to a text being written, position the cursor where the citation is to be inserted in your document.
Then go to the Mendeley Cite add-in window.
In the "References" tab in Mendeley Cite, select the checkbox(es) of the reference(s) to be inserted.
Select "Insert citation" to insert the reference into your document.
If multiple references are to be inserted, simply select more checkboxes.
The citation will be automatically updated with the correct formatting.
To edit citations already created, position the cursor over the citation to be edited and click to select.
In the Mendeley Cite editing panel, your selected citation can be seen and desired changes can be made.
There are several options for editing your references.
Values to specific reference attributes (such as page numbers) can be added and prefix/suffix provided.
There is the option to suppress the author's name.
Any edits made to specific citation will be applied within your document, depending on the citation style selected.
When "Citation settings" is selected, a list of all the citation styles currently installed will be displayed.
When Mendeley Cite is first accessed with your Mendeley account, the selected style will be APA and the tab will display the top 10 most common citation styles.
Change the style by selecting "Change citation style", choose the citation style preferred and click "Update citation style".
Mendeley Cite allows the user to change the citation style being used - even after the citations and bibliography have been finished.
To change the language of a citation, select the "Change citation language" option in the "Citation settings" tab.
Click on the language desired and select "Update citation language" to apply the language to the chosen style. The updated language can be seen in the "Citation settings" tab.
The citation language will change how styles are formatted according to the selected language, such as date format and grammar.
Please note that certain citation styles have a predefined language associated with them. For these citation styles, it is not possible to change the language.
A customised citation style can be uploaded directly into Mendeley Cite for use with Word:
To add the Bibliography with Mendeley Cite, place the cursor on the document where the Bibliography is to be added and then in the section on the right side of Mendeley Cite, click "More" and then "Insert Bibliography".
Mendeley Cite will create the bibliography according to the citation style selected.
Your bibliography will automatically be reordered and restructured each time a citation is added, so there is no need to rebuild it completely.
To refresh the references in your document:
Mendeley Cite will update all the references in your document, as well as the bibliography, with any changes you have made to your library. This function can also be used to update the bibliography if citations have been deleted within the document that has already been entered into the bibliography.
