BIBLIOGRAPHIC CITATION AND REFERENCING WITH APA STYLE

Scientific paper with one author

Example - direct citation:

According to Silva (2020), "the unemployment rate is a crucial indicator of economic health".

Or:

"the unemployment rate is a crucial indicator of economic health" (Silva, 2020, p. 28).

 

Example - indirect citation:

Silva (2020) argued that expansionary fiscal policies can stimulate economic growth.

Or:

Expansionary fiscal policies can stimulate economic growth (Silva, 2020).

 

Example - bibliographic references:

Silva, A. (2020). The unemployment rate as an economic indicator. Revista Portuguesa de Economia, 15(2), 25-40. doi:10.xxxx/yyyy

Scientific paper with two authors 

Example - direct citation:

According to Santos and Pereira (2023), "foreign direct investment has a significant impact on economic growth".

Or:

"foreign direct investment has a significant impact on economic growth" (Santos & Pereira, 2023, p. 72).

 

Example - indirect citation:

Santos and Pereira (2023) discussed the positive effects of foreign direct investment on the economy.

Or:

The positive effects of foreign direct investment on the economy were discussed by Santos and Pereira (2023).

 

Example - bibliographic references:

Santos, A., & Pereira, B. (2023). The effects of foreign direct investment on the economy. Journal of International Economics, 10(1), 65-80. doi:10.xxxx/yyyy

Scientific paper with three or more authors 

Example - direct citation:

According to Silva et al. (2023), "monetary policy directly influences the level of inflation".

Or:

"Monetary policy directly influences the level of inflation" (Silva et al., 2023, p. 112).

Example - indirect citation:

Silva et al. (2023) explored the effects of monetary policy on economic stability.

Or:

The effects of monetary policy on economic stability were explored by Silva et al. (2023).

 

Example - bibliographic references:

Silva, A., Santos, B., Pereira, C., & Oliveira, D. (2023). The effects of monetary policy on economic stability. Journal of Applied Economics, 15(2), 105-120. doi:10.xxxx/yyyy

Paper published online first before final printing (ePub Ahead of Print) 

Example - direct or indirect citation:

• For just one author:

(Author’s surname, Year, p. xx) or Author’s surname (Year).

Example:

(Silva, 2023, p. 7) or Silva (2023).

• For multiple authors:

(First author’s surname et al., Year, p. xx) or First author’s surname et al. (Year).

Example:

(Silva et al., 2023, p. 7) or Silva et al. (2023).

 

Example - bibliographic reference:

In the list of references, it should be mentioned that the paper was published online first before the printed version.

General format:

Author's surname, Initials of names (Year). Paper’s title. Journal’s title. Advance online publication. https://doi.org/xxxx

Example:

Silva, A., Santos, B., & Pereira, C. (2023). Paper’s title. Journal of Economics. Advance online publication. https://doi.org/10.xxxx/yyyy

Masters dissertation / PhD thesis

Example - narrative citation:

Sousa (2020) researched the digital marketing strategies used by small and medium-sized companies in Portugal.

 

Example – citation in brackets:

The digital marketing strategies used by small and medium-sized companies in Portugal were researched (Sousa, 2020).

 

Structure – bibliographic reference:

Author. (Year). Title. [Masters dissertation or PhD thesis]. URL

Example - bibliographic reference:

Gomes, A. R. (2019). The impact of social networks on consumer behaviour [Masters dissertation, Universidade do Porto].  https://repositorio.up.pt/bitstream/123456789/12345/1/Dissertacao.pdf

Conference paper

Example - narrative citation:

Silva (2022) presented a detailed analysis of the importance of technological innovation in small businesses during the International Management Conference.

 

Example – citation in brackets:

A detailed analysis of the importance of technological innovation in small businesses was discussed (Silva, 2022).

 

Structure – bibliographic reference:

Author, A. A. (Year, Month). Title of the paper. Paper presented at the xxxx (name) Conference, Location. URL

Example - bibliographic reference:

Ferreira, M. (2021, October). Digital marketing strategies for startups. Paper presented at the Marketing and Management Congress, Porto, Portugal. https://www.congresso-marketing.pt/ferreira2021

Decree-law

The APA Style only provides guidelines about how to proceed for legislation in the USA, and not for other countries. Here is a suggestion according to the guidelines of the 7th Edition of the APA Style.

Example - narrative citation:

According to Decree-Law No. 123/2021 (2021), the objective of the new regulation is to improve transparency in economic management practices.

Example - citation in brackets:

The objective of the new regulation is to improve transparency in economic management practices (Decree-law No. 123/2021, 2021).

Structure – bibliographic reference:

Country. Decree-law No. xx (number)/Year, of the publication date. Diário da República (or name of the official gazette), No. xx (number), Series, Date. URL

Example - bibliographic reference:

Portugal. Decree-law No. 66/2014, of 8^th May. Diário da República No. 87/2014, I^st Series of 08-05-2014. https://dre.pt/application/file/a/559123

Reference work

Example - narrative citation:

• According to Wikipedia (2023), economics is the study of how people use resources to produce goods and services and distribute them for consumption.

 

Example – citation in brackets:

Economics is the study of how people use resources to produce goods and services and distribute them for consumption (Wikipedia, 2023).

 

Structure – bibliographic reference:

Wikipedia. (Year, Date of update). Entry title. In Wikipedia, the free encyclopaedia. Accessed xxxxxx (date), URL

 

Example - bibliographic reference:

Wikipedia. (2023, 15^th July). Economics. In Wikipedia, the free encyclopaedia. Accessed 16^th July, 2024 from https://pt.wikipedia.org/wiki/Economia

Ebook 

Direct citation with an author:

(Author's surname, Year, p. xx) or Author's surname (Year, p. xx).

Example:

(Silva, 2023, p. 45) or Silva (2023, p. 45).

 

Direct citation with an author:

(Book title, Year, p. xx) or Book title (Year, p. xx).

Example:

(Global Economy, 2020, p. 112) or Global Economy (2020, p. 112).

 

Indirect citation with an author:

Author’s name (Year).

Example:

Silva (2023) argued that ...

 

Example - bibliographic reference:

Author's surname, first initial and second initial. (Year). Book title: Sub-title. http://doi.org/xx.xxxxxxxxx OR URL of the e-book provider's homepage.

Data bases 

• Handling records:

Treat database records as ‘electronic books’.

• Authors:

If the entry does not mention the authors' names, use the corporate author (e.g., Research Institute).

• Dates:

Search for the date of the last update or revision, which is usually located at the top or bottom of the entry.

• Access date:

Add the date when accessed, as the information searched for may change over time.

• Accessed:

Add the date when you accessed the information.

 

Examples:

Institutional authorship:

World Bank  (2020, 15^th March). World Development Report 2020: Trade and Development. World Bank. Accessed 10^th June 2021 from www.worldbank.org

Personal author:

Santos, M. A., & Ferreira, L. P. (2018, 22^rd June). Marketing strategies for small businesses. Editora Financeira. Accessed 5^th September, 2019 from www.pequenasempresas.com

Institutional authorship (with no date of update):

Institute of Applied Economics (n.d.). Impact of fiscal policies on economic growth. IEA. Accessed 15^th March, 2020 from www.iea.gov

Personal author (with no date of update):

Oliveira, T. R., & Silva, A. M. (n.d.). Project management in times of crisis. Editora Gestão. Accessed 20^th July, 2021 from www.gestaodeprojetos.com

Webpage

Example - direct citation:

Structure: (Author, Year, p. Page number)

According to the site of the World Bank (2020), "global economic growth has slowed down" (p. 5).

The page number is added when it is available.

 

Example - indirect citation:

There is no need to add the page number.

Structure: (Author, Year)

Global economic growth has slowed significantly (World Bank, 2020).

 

Example – bibliographic references:

Structure: Author or Name of the Organisation (Year). Title of the document. Name of the site. URL

• Personal Author:

Silva, J. R. (2020). How innovation impacts the global economy. Economics Today. https://www.economiah.com.br/inovacao-economia

• Institutional authorship:

World Bank (2020). World development report 2020: trade and development. World Bank. https://www.worldbank.org/developmentreport2020

• Without an author:

Structure:  

(Title of the document, Year) 

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OCDE). (2019). The OECD's economic Outlook, 2019. https://www.oecd.org/economicoutlook2019

• Without a date:

Fundação Getúlio Vargas. (s.d.).  Economic indicators. https://www.fgv.br/indicadores-economicos

• Article from a News site:

Melo, A. L. (2019). The economic crisis in Brazil: causes and consequences. Jornal Económico. https://www.jornaleconomico.com.br/artigo/crise-economica-brasil

BLOG 

Direct citation:

Structure: (Author, Year, p. Page number) [Note: Usually blog posts don't have page numbers, so the page can be omitted]

Example: According to Silva (2021), “digital marketing transforms the way companies interact with their customers”.

 

Indirect citation:

Structure: (Author, Year)

Example: Digital marketing transforms the way companies interact with their customers (Silva, 2021).

 

Example – bibliographic references:

Structure: Author, A. A. (Ano, Mês Dia). Ttitle of the post. Name of the Blog. URL

• Personal author:

Silva, J. R. (2021, 5^th January).  Digital marketing trends for 2021. Marketing blog. https://www.blogdemarketing.com/tendencias-2021

• Institutional authorship:

HubSpot. (2020, 12^th October). How to improve your SEO strategies. HubSpot blog. https://blog.hubspot.com/pt-br/estrategias-seo

• With no specific author:

Economics blog. (2019, 3^rd March).  The impact of globalisation on the local economy. https://www.blogdeeconomia.com/impacto-globalizacao

• Post on a collective blog:

Lima, A. B., & Souza, C. D. (2020, 20th November). The importance of data analysis in companies. Corporate Analysis. https://www.analisecorporativa.com/analise-dados

Facebook 

Structure of the citation:  

(Author’s name, Year) 

Example: 

(Government of Portugal, 2023) 

Bibliographic reference: 

Author. (Year, Month, Day). Full text of the publication [Status update]. Facebook. URL 

• Example:

Government of Portugal. (2023, 4th July). The new business support programme was launched today, with the object to boost the local economy [Status update]. Facebook. https://www.facebook.com/govpt/posts/1234567890123456 

 

Twitter 

Structure of the citation: 

(Author’s name [@username], Year) 

Example: 

(GovernoPT [@govpt], 2023) 

Bibliographic reference: 

Author [@username]. (Year, Month, Day). Text of the post up to the first 20 words [Tweet]. Twitter. URL 

• Example:

GovernoPT [@govpt]. (2023, 4^th July). The new business support programme was launched today, with the object to boost the local economy [Tweet]. Twitter. https://twitter.com/govpt/status/1234567890123456789 

 Instagram 

Structure of the citation: 

(Author’s name [@username], Year)

Example: 

(VisitPortugal [@visitportugal], 2023)

Bibliographic reference: 

Author [@username], Year, Month, Day). Full text of the post. Instagram. URL 

• Example:

VisitPortugal [@visitportugal]. (2023, 12^th June). Discover the charms of Portugal this summer with our new tourism campaign [Photograph]. Instagram. https://www.instagram.com/p/ABCDEFGHIJKL/ 

Youtube

Example - narrative citation:

TED-Ed (2016) explains the principles of game theory clearly and concisely.

Example – citation in brackets:

The principles of game theory are explained clearly and concisely (TED-Ed, 2016).

Structure – bibliographic reference:

Author, A. A. [Name of the Yutube channel]. (Year, Date). Title of the video [Video]. YouTube. URL

Example - bibliographic reference:

TED-Ed. (2016, 15^th October). The Prisoner's Dilemma [Video].

YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v/dQw4w9WgXcQ

 

E-mail 

Structure of the citation: 

(Author's name, personal communication, Date)

 

Example: 

(Maria Silva, personal communication, 3^rd July, 2024) 

 

Bibliographic reference: 

Personal interviews are not included in the list of bibliographical references, because they do not provide data that can be freely accessed. They should only be cited in the main body of the text. 

Audio podcast

Structure of the citation: 

(Name of Producer/Presenter, Year)

 

Example: 

(Smith, 2020)

 

Bibliographic reference: 

Producer/Presenter. (Year, Month, Day). Title of the episode (Episode number) [audio podcast]. In the name of the Podcast. Producer. URL 

• Example:

Smith, J. (2020, 15^th March). The importance of the green economy (Episode 10) [audio podcast]. In Economics for All. United Podcasters. https://www.podcastersunidos.com/episodio10 

Webinar

Example - narrative citation:

HubSpot (2023) discussed new digital marketing strategies during its recent webinar.

 

Example – citation in brackets:

HubSpot. (2023, 10^th July). New Digital Marketing Strategies [Webinar]. URL

 

Structure – bibliographic reference:

Author, A. A. (Year, Date). Title of the webinar [Webinar]. URL

Example - bibliographic reference:

HubSpot. (2023, 15^th April). Current Trends in Content Marketing [Webinar]. https://www.hubspot.com/webinars/current-trends-content-marketing

Music track

Example - narrative citation:

Sheeran (2017) presents a captivating rhythm in ‘The Shape of You’.

 

Example – citation in brackets:

The captivating rhythm of ‘The Shape of You’ (Sheeran, 2017).

 

Structure – bibliographic reference:

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of the music track. In Title of the album [Album]. Name of the record label.

Example - bibliographic reference:

Queen. (1975). Bohemian Rhapsody. In A Night at the Opera [Album]. EMI Records.

Film or Video

Example - narrative citation:

Fincher (2010) explores the creation of Facebook and the conflicts that arose between its founders.

 

Example – citation in brackets:

The creation of Facebook and the conflicts that arose between its founders were explored in the film (Fincher, 2010).

 

Structure – bibliographic reference:

Director, D. D. (Year). Title of the film [Film]. Studio.

Author, A. A. [Name of the Channel]. (Year, Date). Title of the video [Video]. YouTube. URL

 

Example - bibliographic reference:

Fincher, D. (Diretor). (2010). The Social Network [Film]. Columbia Pictures.

Website image

Example - narrative citation:

Statista's economic growth chart (2023) shows an upward trend in recent years.

 

Example – citation in brackets:

An upward trend in recent years is shown in the economic growth graph (Statista, 2023).

 

Structure – bibliographic reference:

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of the image [Image]. URL

 

Example - bibliographic reference:

Statista. (2023). Global Market Growth Figure [Image]. https://www.statista.com/chart/12345/global-market-growth

Infographics

Example - narrative citation:

Smith's infographic (2023) illustrates digital media consumption trends.

Example – citation in brackets:

Digital media consumption trends are illustrated in the infographic (Smith, 2023).

 

Structure – bibliographic reference:

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of the infographic [Infographic]. URL

Example - bibliographic reference:

Garcia, A. (2022). Market Trends in 2022 [Infographic]. https://www.exemplo.com/infografico

PowerPoint taken from an educational website

Example - narrative citation:

Silva's PowerPoint (2023) presents effective digital marketing strategies.

 

Example – citation in brackets:

This PowerPoint presents effective digital marketing strategies (Silva, 2023).

 

Structure – bibliographic reference:

Author, A. A. (Year). Title of the PowerPoint [PowerPoint]. URL

Example - bibliographic reference:

Santos, B. (2022).  Global Economic Policies [PowerPoint]. https://www.exemplo.com/powerpoint

Photograph

Example - narrative citation:

The photograph of a portrait of Salvador Dalí by Philippe Halsman (1948) captures his eccentric personality.

 Example – citation in brackets:

Salvador Dalí's eccentric personality has been captured (Halsman, 1948)

 

Structure – bibliographic reference:

Author, A. A. (Role). (Year). Title of the photograph [Photograph]. URL

Example - bibliographic reference:

Lange, D. (1936). Migrant Mother [Photograph]. https://www.loc.gov/pictures/item/99615085/